Spanish Taper

Madrid Live Music Archivist

Mumford & Sons, Palacio de Vistalegre, Madrid, Spain (March 21th, 2013) – Mp3

MAS

First concert of Mumford & Sons in Madrid and the expectations were really high. The show was scheduled to take place at La Riviera (it can hold 2500 people more or less), but due to their success last year and the big demand of ticket the show was moved to the Palacio de Vistalegre (which can hold around 12000 people). So you make an idea that this was the place to be yesterday, and though this surely had a big impact on the promoters and the band it was catastrophic for the concert itself. The post-“Madrid Arena” situation also had its effect in the show and the general admission was half empty… I think this situation will really harm the promoters and less important bands will come to Madrid each time (add the increased VAT for all cultural events [21% now] and it’s a pretty desparing mix up).

The logistics were really poor with long queues to access the venue, I myself didn’t have to wait long to access the stadium so I could get a nice spot to set up the equipment. After of almost 2 hours (with nice performances from the opening bands, I liked Deap Vally) the show (or should I say big karaoke party) started. From minute one the sound was pretty bad from my position (dead center in the sitting area), and I could hear louder all the teenagers singing as loud as they could (and not listening for a second, not even in the quieter songs). Not to mention the clapping… it looks as if you don’t clap you are not enjoying the concert… it’s really really annoying…

The performance from the band was really “cold” and apart from a couple of interactions with the audience. I couldn’t get into the concert until the encores, when both opening acts joined the band to play a cover of Marvin Gaye, the only unexpected surprise of the night. How can a band tour and play the same songs night after night after night and not get tired of it? They declare themselves fans of Bruce Springsteen, I think they could learn a couple of things from him, at least from his live performances.

All in all, a show I can’t say I enjoyed… They can count me out next time they come to Madrid, although I don’t think they will miss me =)

The sound of the recording is surprisingly good, I was expecting a bad sounding tape with all crowd and claps and no music, buuttt I found a quite decent recording in which you can actually hear the band, even better than from my position in the venue… So a nice souvenir for the fans and people who want to enjoy the performance again.

Mumford & Sons

Palacio de Vistalegre, Madrid, Spain
March 21, 2013

Equipment: CMC-8 > CA-9200 > Sony PCM-10 (24 bit) > Adobe Audition (downsample and raise levels) > YOU

  1. Babel
  2. I Will Wait
  3. Whispers In The Dark
  4. White Blank Page
  5. Holland Road
  6. Timshel
  7. Little Lion Man
  8. Lover Of The Light
  9. Thistle & Weeds
  10. Ghosts That We Knew
  11. Awake My Soul
  12. Roll Away
  13. Dust Bowl Dance
  14. Baby Don’t You Do It (Marvin Gaye cover)
  15. Winter Winds
  16. The Cave

Download the Complete show [MP3].

If you download this recording, PLEASE SUPPORT Mumford & Sons. Visit their site [HERE], you can follow them on Facebook [HERE] or Twitter [HERE]. Visit their store and purchase their records [HERE]. They are on tour right now so make sure you go and see them live when you have the chance.

3 responses to “Mumford & Sons, Palacio de Vistalegre, Madrid, Spain (March 21th, 2013) – Mp3

  1. Patricia March 23, 2013 at 12:36 pm

    No es posible descargar los audios.

  2. Jean-Marc November 9, 2013 at 12:16 am

    Now that I’ve got the Pixies Live in Madrid, I’m checking your other recordings, great job man!! I was in this concert too, but I would say that Baby Don`t You Do It is a song that sounds a lot like The Band used to sing it, rather than Marvin Gaye… Anyway, I’ll download this one too. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

